“Ice Cream” You Scream

OK- So I’m embarrassed to admit that 2 years ago I bought an ice cream maker because I told myself “I really needed it and would make ice cream all summer…” Well 2 years later I decided to break in my machine and give it a whirl (literally). While the actual concoction of the recipe I came up with was a piece of cake to make, the assembling of my machine was unfortunately its own task. After reading the manual at least 15 times i finally attempted to give it a try… It worked!! and the Vegan Ice Cream was everything I had hoped it would come out to be! I sort of put together a bunch of different recipes that I had into one, but you can really switch up the ice cream flavor to your own personal taste and cravings. I was in a pretty basic mood so I made Vanilla Chocolate Chip. Whether you are vegan or not this ice cream makes for a delicious totally guilt free cold treat on a hot day, so ENJOY! and remember get creative substitute the choc. chips for fruit, or nuts, and if you’re feeling crazy sometimes I add 1/2 cup cocoa powder for a dark chocolate flavor.
Vanilla Chocolate Chip Vegan Ice Cream:
1 Cup Vanilla Almond Breeze (or soy or rice milk whatever you prefer)
1 Cup Coconut Milk Creamer
1/2 Cup Maple Syrup
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/2 Block of Tofu (make sure it is very well drained of the water, otherwise the ice cream will turn out icy and not creamy)
Step 1: Blend the tofu before placing it into the ice cream maker to ensure that the ice cream will be smooth and not chunky (ew), I used an immersion blender.
Step 2: After blending tofu, combine all ingredients into your ice cream maker and follow your machine directions!
Step 3: Place in freezer immediately and ENJOY!

 
 

 

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sabs said,

    looks great! i have the same ice cream maker and i never use it either. you’ve inspired me!

  2. 2

    ASchwek said,

    Thank You and really you must use your machine ASAP it is sooo easy and DElish! plus this weekend will be a perfect one to have some healthy vegan ice cream stored in the freezer- Get creative and let me know what flavors you come up with…

  3. 3

    Rebeccak106 said,

    Sounds yum! I’ve also also been afraid of my ice cream maker when this wind and cold stop I may dust it off!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

